Home > iOS App > Reducing the amount of overlay data in the app

Reducing the amount of overlay data in the app

Many people who use the Memory-Map app to record their tracklogs or mark locations find that their device becomes clogged up with too much data. It can cause clutter on the screen, making the map hard to read, or it can cause the app to perform poorly, with a noticeable lag when when zooming or changing maps.

The first step to mitigate the situation is to "Hide" the marks, routes and tracks that are causing the problem:

  • From the map window, go to the flip side
  • Tap the Overlays button on the toolbar at the bottom
  • Tap the Marks, Routes or Tracks button, depending on which type of data you want to hide
  • Tap Menu, then, Hide All

This causes the data to be removed from the map display, but it still appears in the Overlay list.  If you want to make an individual item visible again, tap on the item in the Overlay list, then tap on the settings button at the top right. Tap the Visible switch to make it visible or invisible.

Hiding the data will improve the responsiveness of the app, but there is still quite a significant performance overhead from storing the data in the app. The best solution is to save it all to a file, which you can backup or archive, and remove it from the app.

  • As before, go to the flip side, and tap the Overlays button
  • Tap Menu, then Save all. Tap File name, and give the file a name.
  • If you want to store the data in a cloud storage service, tap Share. For iCloud, select Save to Files, or select Google Drive, Dropbox, or any other storage app you have installed on the device.
  • Tap Done. Your data is now saved to a file, and you can safely remove it from the app:
  • Tap Menu, Delete All.

At any time, you can re-load your saved data by Tapping Menu, Load Saved Data. Data saved to the cloud can be downloaded to Memory-Map on the PC or Mac.  It is also possible to save individual data items, so they can be loaded one at a time.

Note that if you are using the Memory-Map cloud sync feature, and you find it needs a Professional Sync license, that is good sign that you should consider cleaning up your overlays. In this case, hiding the data won't work, you should save it to a file. The Memory-Map cloud sync is designed to manage your working set of data between devices. It is not designed as a permanent archive.